Story…warning may be boring :)

by

So, I thought that I would get this blog up to date so that I can post up-to-date information about the babies and how they are doing.

So….we had a great baby shower on Sunday, October 5th.  On Monday, October 6th at 5:45 am I woke to the gushing of fluid.  I jumped up and ran to the bathoom……amniotic fluid ALL over the place…tons of it.  There was no doubt about it being anything else.  I started really crying and saying “it is too early…way too early”, I was bordering on hysterical.  I realized that I needed to get it togeher and get to the hospital.  I called the doctor and was told to go straight to the hospital.  The hospital is one hour away on the north side of Atlanta and it was Monday morning rush hour.  The good thing is that it was on the early side and Toni was still at home.  There was no hospital bag packed and I did not feel like I needed to take the time to do so.  I am insane at this point and changed into clean shorts and underwear, I had to at least do that.  I grabbed another pair of shorts and underwear,,,no idea why and grabbed a towel and three books.  I am not sure where my mind was.  So, we get the hospital in good time.  When I got out of the truck, I had another LARGE gush of amniotic fluid  I was beside myself thinking that my other amniotic sac broke.  I got checked in and went to the labor/delivery floor.  The nurse midwife came in and checked me, only one centimeter dialated and minimal contractions. They gave me steroids for the baby’s lungs, started and IV, and gave me Brethine to try to stop the contractions, it did not so I got a second shot.  That did the trick.  I was then taken downstairs to the perinatologist and they checked on the babies and they looked good.  Avery was the only one that had her amniotic fluid almost gone but continuing to producce fluid and doing well.  They checked estimated weights and I cannot for the life of me remember what they were.  I waent back upstairs and was put in a nicer room in hopes that I would be there a while.  They said that 50% of people deliver within 48 hours of PROM and others can go up to 14 days.  Of course, we were shooting for the 14 days. I began to feel really good and thought that we could make it.  No contractions, they were letting me eats….life was better.  About 9 pm the contractions were back. They decided to start Mag Sulfate…the big daddy.  It did not work.  I was checked at 9pm and was dilated to 2 cm.  They did not seem worried.  The contractions got worse and closer together,  I liked the nurse a lot but do not think that she believed me about the contractions getting worse and closer together.  I had so many monitors on that the contraction monitor was not measuring anything.  Lucky for me about 11p and the nurse midwife came in and saw I was not doing well.  She checked me and I was between 8 and 9cm dialted with Avery’s cord coming out.  Needless to say, thing went into action.  I was given an injection of fentanyl for the pain, which was horrible.  I was having 45sec to 1 min contractions about 1-2 min apart.  They got the epidural started in about 15 minutes and the OR ready.  Again, I was freaking out.  This was NOT what I was oping to happen, but it was.  I got a great epidural and it really numbed me.  Next thing I know, we are in the ER.  I felt nothing and barely got to see the babies because they wanted to get them to the NICU.  The OB assured me that they were going to be fine,  I cried.  I was in recovery about an hour,  They told me I had to move my toes to go to the room,  I could not move my toes but they let me go to the room anyway.  It was six hours before I could move my toes.  The babies were born at 12:33a and 12:34a.  I got to see them about 1pm the next day.  They were beautiful… I am biased.  They both started out on C-Pap.

Will write more about the babies and their health and progression a little later.

7 Responses to “Story…warning may be boring :)”

  1. goldfish5 Says:

    Are you crazy? Why would that be boring? We are still just so freaking happy for you and Toni..and you aren’t just biased, your girls are beautiful.

  2. C Says:

    I agree they are beautiful!
    Congrats again!

  3. Erin Says:

    Thank you for the story, I was so glad to get the details. Again, congratulations, can’t wait to hear more about the girls and see more pictures!!

  4. onemorebaby Says:

    That is an amazing story! I am so glad you are sharing!!! They are both just the most beautiful little dolls!

  5. The mother hen Says:

    Nothing boring about that story. I’m glad they’re both doing well.

  6. mycowgirlalterego Says:

    I love birth stories and they are gorgeous!

  7. meg Says:

    Thank you for sharing. Congrats on your beautiful girls.

Leave a Reply

