Confusion

by

I am really confused.  I have had so many people think that it is weird that I am still pumping.  Correct me if I am wrong, but isn’t breast milk supposed to be the most appropriate for your child if you are able to produce it?  People have told me that they think it is strange that I continue to pump and will do so 6 times a day until they turn one.  It almost makes me feel like I am doing something wrong…… Well let me tell you, I plan to provide breast milk even AFTER their one year birthday just not such excessive pumping.  I plan to decrease after age one slowly dow to 2x a day for a while.  Aidy has eczema, so most likely she has some allergies, and I think that I will delay cow milk for a while.  I guess I am asking for some support so I can stop feeling like I am doing something that is not normal.

4 Responses to “Confusion”

  1. Erin Says:

    You are definitely (imho) doing the right thing, keep up the good work!!

  2. Becca Says:

    I did only BM, pumped and from the source, until baby’s first birthday and would have continued longer except for a massive yeast infection. I did introduce cow’s milk sometime in month 11, I think, but only very minimal. Sometimes people suck.

  3. Michell Says:

    Definitely sounds like you are doing the right thing to me. My cousin BF and pumped until her daughter was a year and a half old. I think what ever works for you and the hell with everyone else.

  4. laura Says:

    As an extended nurser I applaud you and let you in on a secret. The people making those comments are jealous. After all, like the t-shirt says- YOU can make MILK- whats their superpower? You go girl!

Leave a comment